Who will be the next European Universities Champion of Rugby 7’s?

Excitement and determination filled the hair on the second day of the European University Rugby 7’s Championship in the capital of Portugal, Lisbon. 10 matches were played, 4 in the women's competition and 6 in the mens tournament, and a total  of 382 staggering points scored.



In the men's division, both University of La Rochelle (FRA) and University of San Jorge (ESP) showcased their tremendous drive to return home with the title of European Champion, both ended the second to last day of the competition without a lost. In regards to the best scorer so far, both Mathis Brunet, from University of La Rochelle (FRA), and Paul De Lauzon, from San Jorge University (ESP) lead the scoreboard with only a point between them.


The third place is also yet to be decided and promises to bring emotions to the surface, with the teams from the Camilo José Cela University, the University of Parma and the Jozef Pilsudski Academy of Physical Education all in the running.



In the women’s competition University of Rennes 2 (FRA) have shown their dominance by winning every time they entered the field, closely followed by University of Seville with 3 wins and a loss. As for the top two scorers, they both carry the same symbol on their chests, Margaux Dufros and Ella Ogar from University of Rennes 2 (FRA).



Sadly, the tournament will soon come to an end, on the 31st August. A day that promises to be full of enthusiasm, energy, drive and thirst to win and achieve the ultimate goal to lift the throphy of European Universities Champion of Rugby 7’s.